Should iCloud back up be on or off?
First, consider whether you really want to turn off iCloud backups. When you buy a new iPhone or iPad, these backups mean you don’t need to set up the new device from scratch. These backups take place automatically, so you are always covered. If you switch them off, you will have to take care of this yourself.
Is iPhone backup necessary?
You should back up your iPhone regularly. Here’s how to do it even if iCloud won’t let you. Manage iCloud storage by removing old backups for iOS devices you no longer have. Backing up your iPhone is just one of the mundane tasks you do as a functioning adult.
What does backup mean on iPhone?
A backup allows you to copy and save the information from your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch. If you replace your device, you can use a backup to transfer your information to a new device.
Does an iCloud backup save everything?
Your iCloud Backup includes information about the content you buy, but not the content itself. When you restore from an iCloud backup, your purchased content is automatically redownloaded from the iTunes Store, App Store, or Books Store. Some types of content aren’t downloaded automatically in all countries or regions.
Do I lose photos if I turn off iCloud?
If you turn off iCloud Photo stream on the device, Photo stream, and the images in the stream folder, are removed from the device, BUT NOT FROM iCloud. If you have any other devices using iCloud photo stream, they will not be impacted. You can also delete from photo stream, just like any folder.
What will I lose if I don’t backup my iPhone?
The backup does nothing to the firmware or iOS – a backup only contains data, not apps, not iOS. If you setup as new, rather than restore from backup, you will lose the following data: Application settings, preferences, and data, including documents. App Store Application data including in-app purchases.
Does backing up iPhone save photos?
An iTunes backup will save nearly everything on the iPhone including pictures on the camera roll, just as long as the photos were not downloaded from the computer but taken directly from the iPhone’s camera. For more info on backups, see About backups for iOS devices.
What happens if I delete an iPhone backup?
Deleting a backup deletes the backup only from the iCloud storage, not anything on the iPhone. The iPhone’s iCloud backup will be updated at some point – automatically when the iPhone is connected to an available wi-fi network while connected to a power source unless the iCloud backup is turned off on the iPhone.
Should I be using iCloud?
Don’t get me wrong, iCloud can be useful. The purpose of iCloud is so you can access your data across all of your Apple devices. However, a large portion of people either don’t have another Apple device, or don’t need to be storing that much data in the cloud.
Does backing up iPhone save messages?
Apple saves your text messages in its iPhone backups—whether they’re saved locally on your PC or they’re part of an iCloud backup—which you should have. That’s good! Unfortunately, the file containing your messages doesn’t appear separately within the backup. However, you can access them through the filesystem.
What will backing up an iPhone do?
That’s where backing up comes in. An iPhone backup saves a record of everything that makes your phone irreplaceable: the files in your apps, your progress in games, your photos and your text conversations. As of iOS 8, the iPhone supports two backup methods: iCloud backups and iTunes backups.
What should be backed up on iCloud?
What Does iCloud Backup Include?
- App data.
- Apple Watch backups.
- Device settings.
- Home screen and app organization.
- iMessage, text (SMS), and MMS messages.
- Photos and videos on your iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.
- Purchase history from Apple services, like music, movies, TV shows, apps, and books.